Thoughts On Writing

Am I Wasting My Time Here?

Should I be focusing on something else?

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
3 min readDec 18, 2020

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I think the time of Medium has passed.

Gone are the days of writing five times a week and making thousands of dollars. At least for most of us (98% maybe). Now, that’s not to say that 7% of us can’t make $100 or more and enjoy this income.

But, I think Medium is hurting the writer who wants to grow something more.

What do I mean?

Well, let’s look at it this way. You get into writing on Medium because you have heard of these bloggers who have come over and made thousands of dollars on the site.

You pay your $60 to get into the Medium Partner Program and start writing consistently, putting in tons of time and effort, and you get your first paycheck: $0.24 for eight articles.

Brutal.

Yet, you know that anything good takes time. So, you work at it for weeks, that turn into months, that turn into years. Then you come to the conclusion that I did recently:

This is not sustainable and I need to make a change.

What is Medium good for if I’m not going to make a ton…

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER

Author of 13 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com