5 Surprising Benefits Of Personal Solitude

Tap into these benefits and make the rest of your day better.

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
4 min readJun 24, 2020

--

When I wake up in the morning, I spend the first hour and a half of my day by myself. Some days, this is the best time of the day for me. My mornings in solicitude are an essential and sacred time to me.

I wake up at 5 AM and immediately start the coffee.

Coffee in hand, I sit down and read a chapter of a book of the Bible. After that, I journal and pray. With my spirit and soul fed by my Bible time, I launch into writing. Once I’ve done some writing, I plan the rest of my day.

And then my daughters wake up and the busy day begins.

This is the same routine I do nearly every morning. And when I don’t, well, it can be pretty terrible. As Ryan Romeo says in his book: Head in the Clouds Feet on the Ground:

“And without my time, I become a shell of a man. All work and no quiet time make Daddy a dull boy.”

This rings true of me too. Over the last few years, I have really dialed this time in too. When someone asked me about my morning routine, I shared what comes out of it. And I have boiled it down to these benefits.

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER

Author of 13 books on Amazon with more on the way. I want to help you write your book: jrheimbigner.substack.com